skip to content

International Roman Law Moot

Image of twelfth IRLM final
A team from the Université de Liège, comprising Marie Beudels, Marie Duchesne, Nargisse El Houti and Zoé Ledent has won the Twelfth International Roman Law Moot, defeating the University of Oxford in the Grand Final, held in the Lady Chapel at Ely Cathedral. This is the first time that Liège has secured the Palma Victoriae, and reverses the 2018 result, in which Oxford defeated Liège. The team was supervised by Prof. Jean-François Gerkens and coached by M. Clément Pesesse and M. Andy Jousten. This year's prize consisted of a replica of a Mithraic tauroctony, based on examples including one displayed in York Museum, and manufactured in Northumberland in authentic Roman conditions.
In the Small Final, the Universität Wien defeated the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens to win the Palma Tertia (Third Prize), while Nargisse El Houti, a member of the victorious Université de Liège team, was awarded the Palma Optimi Oratoris (Best Oralist Award), with Honourable Mentions to Riccardo Gaeta (Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II) and Katharina Haen (Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen).

(l to r) Zoé Ledent, Nargisse El Houti, Marie Duchesne and Marie Beudels (Université de Liège) with the Palma Victoriae