skip to content

International Roman Law Moot

Photograph of the host presenting first prize to the winning Athenian team

The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens successfully defended its 2023 title, defeating the Université de Liège in the Seventeenth International Roman Law Moot Court Competition, at a Grand Final held in the magnificent Justizpalast in Vienna on Friday 5 April 2024. The winning team consisted of Danae Argyropoyloy, Maria Fefe, Rodanthi Karavasili and Maria Margariti; the runner-up team members were Diane Delperdange, Cyrille Gilliard, Marie Mawet and Clémentine Waxweiler.

Led by the President of the Austrian Supreme Court, Prof. Dr Georg Kodek, professors from four countries adjudicated at the Grand Final: Prof. Boudewijn Sirks, Dr Natale Rampazzo, Ms Maria Lux and Mr Konstantin Schönleber. 

With this fourth win, Athens overtakes Oxford as the most successful team in the competition’s history, and becomes only the second team to have won the competition in consecutive years (alongside Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen in 2016 and 2017).

The top individual prize in the Seventeenth IRLM, the Palma Optimi Oratoris or Best Oralist prize, was awarded to David Anderl (Universität Wien), with Honourable Mentions to Maria Margariti (National and Kapodistrian University of Athens) and Yuvan Vasanthakumaran (University of Cambridge).

The Small Final saw the University of Cambridge defeat its older sibling the University of Oxford to secure third place.

For their support of the Seventeenth IRLM, the hosts, judges and mooters gratefully acknowledge: the Universität Wien, the Oberster Gerichtshof, the Kunsthistorisches Museum and MANZ Verlag & Buchhandlung.